St. Bonaventure’s College is governed by a volunteer Board of Governors that highly values Catholic education in the Jesuit tradition. The college receives no government funding for its operations, relying only on the generosity of its benefactors and the tuition of its students.

Neither the public school board, nor any of its affiliated organizations, play any role in the operation of St. Bonaventure’s College. The school complies with the provincial Schools Act, and in particular, the section pertaining to “Private Schools.”

The bylaws for the Board of Governors can be found here

Board of Governors 2018-2019

Ms. Nancy Healey – Chair

Mr. Andrew Smith – Vice Chair

Dr. Kirby Shannahan – Secretary

Ms. Barbara Mason – Past Chair

Mr. John French

Dr. Sean McGrath

Mr. Ken Moyse

Dr. Fiona Polack

Ms. Kendra Wright

Appointed by The Jesuits of Canada (Voting)

Father Bill Browne, S.J.

Father John McCarthy, S.J.

Appointed by the Archbishop (Voting)

Mr. John McGrath

Superior of the Jesuit Community in Newfoundland & Labrador (Voting)

Father Earl Smith, S.J.

Ex-officio (Non-Voting)

Mr. Tom McGrath, President, St. Bonaventure’s College