The Board of Governors mandates its Nominations Committee each year to identify potential candidates for the Board of Governors to ensure that the number of Board nominees meets the number of upcoming vacancies each year.  This year the board has three vacancies. The Nomination Committee will fulfill this mandate by presenting the names of three (3) candidates available for nomination for the 2020 St. Bonaventure’s College Board election.

In addition to the nominations made by the Board, the Board invites and encourages nominations from the Membership (members are defined as parents or legal guardians of students currently enrolled in the School (not exceeding two per family)). We have a wealth of skills and perspectives in our school community and we invite all Members to consider how they might contribute to this important role in our school. Please note that to be considered for nomination, individuals shall a) be at least 18 years of age, b) not be an undischarged bankrupt and c) not have been convicted of an indictable offence.

For those wishing to seek nominations we have adapted our process to facilitate social distancing. Each nominee needs to obtain 15 nominations. This can be done by e-mail. Please have the requisite number of nominators complete the following:

I hereby nominate _______________ to the Board of Governors of St. Bonaventure’s College.

I confirm, I am eligible to nominate and that the nominee to my knowledge meets all the criteria


E-mail address:


Once compiled please email full nomination package (including  candidate biography and photo) to by August 19, 2020

August 19, 2020– Nomination papers, candidate biographies, and photos due.

August 24, 2020 – Biographies and list of candidates go to parents.

August 31 – September 4, 2020 – Voting period.

September 5, 2020 – Ballots are counted by scrutineers.

September 7, 2020– Nominees and Board members are notified of the results by the Board Chair; this is followed by notification of parents and guardians.

To Be Determined – Results will be communicated to all Members at the Annual General Meeting which will take place no earlier than September 28 and no later than November 26.

Current members of the Board of Governors: 

Ms. Nancy Healey – Chair

Mr. Rob Blackie – Vice-Chair

Dr. Kirby Shannahan – Secretary (outgoing)

Dr. Fiona Pollack

Dr. Jerry McGrath

Mr. John French

Mr. Ken Moyse

Ms. Jennifer Dove (outgoing)

Please note Dr. Sean McGrath resigned in January 2020

Appointed by The Jesuits of English Canada (Voting)

Father Bill Browne, S.J.

Father Gerard Ryan, S.J.

Archbishop’s Representative (Ex-officio Voting)

Fr. Cecil Critch

Superior of the Jesuit Community in Newfoundland & Labrador (Ex-officio Voting)

Father Earl Smith, S.J.

Ex-officio (Non-Voting)

Stephen Handrigan, President, St. Bonaventure’s College

About the Board of Governors 

The Board consists of nine elected voting Governors, an Immediate Past Chair (voting) in years when the Chair has completed his or her elected term, two appointed voting Governors, two ex-officio voting Governors and one ex-officio non-voting Governor, for a total of not more than 15 Governors. Governors are elected for a term of three years. The Board elects Officers (Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary) annually to a one-year term at the first meeting following the AGM.

Any Member in good standing of the School may stand for election to the Board of Governors. Members are defined as parents or legal guardians of students currently enrolled in the School (not exceeding two per family). The School strives to ensure that the Board is representative of the Voting Members of the School and that all candidates are individuals who will act with a view to the best interests of the School as a whole. Consideration is given to factors such as commitment to the Mission of the School, multi-disciplinary backgrounds, gender, and grade representation. Our By-Laws stipulate that at least two voting Governors shall be parents or guardians of students in grades K-6 and at least two shall be parents or legal guardians of students in grades 7-12.

Thank you for your interest and involvement in this process.

Dr. Jerry McGrath

Chair – Nominations Committee