On Sunday, June 25 St. Bonaventure’s College held it’s Commencement for the Class of 2017. The morning began with a mass in the chapel which was celebrated by Archbishop Martin W. Currie, D.D. and concelebrated by Fr. Bill Browne, S.J. ‘ 45, Fr. Cecil Critch, and Fr. Joseph Schuck, S.J. The mass was followed by the Alumni Tie ceremony, where Alumnus and Member of Parliament, Mr. Seamus O’Regan ’84 presented each graduate with an Alumni tie to welcome them into the Alumni community. The event concluded with the Commencement Exercises where the Grade 11 were presented with their Academic awards and the Class of 2016 were presented with their Graduation Certificates and Medals.

The Class of 2017

  • Roland Agiaye
  • Udemeobong Akpainyang
  • Emily Barker
  • Hayley Barrett
  • Noah DeBourke
  • Benjamin Dornan
  • Alexander Glynn
  • William Goodridge
  • Jordan Gray
  • Jessica Hand
  • Jane Hutchings
  • Aloysius Lou
  • Claire MacLeod
  • Kathleen Mason
  • Grace Moffatt
  • Sydney Newton
  • Benjamin Rogers
  • Benjamin Dornan
  • Gavin Rose
  • Rachel Snelgrove
  • Roha Sotvoldiyev
  • Lauren Stringer
  • Samuel Templeton
  • Benjamin Dornan

There was also a number of special presentations made during the ceremony. The awards and recipients are listed below:

Parents Auxiliary Awards – For Highest Grade in Public Exam Courses

Physics 3204 – Jane Hutchings

Earth Systems 3229 – Will Goodridge

English 3201 – Claire MacLeod & Sydney Newton

Math 3201 – Gavin Rose

Math 3200 – Lauren Stringer

Chemistry 3202 – Mitchell Agiaye

Biology 3201 – Jane Hutchings

World History 3201 – Rachel Howell

Father Schuck & Brother Joe Frechette Awards

Presented to two students who exemplify the concept of Cura Personalis

Lauren Stringer & Sam Templeton

The Judge Cyril Fox Memorial Prize

Presented to a Grade 10 or 11 student registered in the Newfoundland Studies course who gives the best account of any aspect of Newfoundland-Labrador history during the time period of 1900-1950.

Steven Coffin

Paul Roberts Music Award

Band – Claire MacLeod

Choral – Jane Hutchings

The Francis J. DiDonato Memorial Scholarship

Alex Glynn

Dick Power Memorial Scholarship

Presented to a Grade 12 student who is an above average academic student, excels in sports and exemplifies sportsmanship.

Noah DeBourke

The Thompson Cup  – Athlete of the Year

Male – Ben Rogers

Female – Maria Chafe

The Brother Darcy Scholarship Award

Hayley Barrett & Emily Barker

Dr. Louis Edmund Lawton Memorial Social Justice Scholarship

Awarded to the graduating student who displays an expressed interest in Social Justice and has shown evidence of this through action, written, oral or direct participation

Ben Dornan

The Jean de Brebeuf Award

Awarded to the graduating student who has exemplified consistent determination and motivation at St. Bon’s and who has demonstrated during his or her time here, strength and courage when meeting the challenges of life

Jordan Gray

Robert Kendall Memorial Scholarship

Presented to a graduating students who posseses care and concern for others, dedication to his/her school through dedication to academics as well as extracurricular participation

Ben Rogers

Jesuit Schools Network Awards

Recognizes the positive contributions of two graduates who show the qualities of a grad at grad.

Jane Hutchings & Grace Moffatt

The Furey-Tracey Awards

Presented to two students who demonstrate pride in their school as well as a penchant for service for others, within the school and in the community at large.

Will Goodridge & Kathleen Mason

2016 Governor General’s Academic Medal

Presented to the student with the highest academic average based of all of the subjects in the 2000 and 3000 level.

Richard Smith

Schulich Nominee

Ben Dornan

Loran Semi-Finalist

Claire MacLeod

The Most Spirited Graduate Award

Roland Agiaye

The Alec G. & Catherine Henley Scholarship

Jane Hutchings

Dr. Michael Bautista Award

Awarded to the graduate who best exemplifies the school motto of “Knowing, Believing and Doing”

Jessie Hand

St. Ignatius of Loyola Award

Awarded to the graduate who best exemplifies the profile of the Jesuit High School Grad at Grad

Grace Moffatt

2017 Valedictorian

Jane Hutchings